Archive for April 25th, 2010

Case Study: Glenn Jones

There’s a good chance i will rehash some of these ideas into new ones.

For more wicked awesome shirt designy type stuff by Glenn Jones, just hit him up at the link below.

via TutorArt

Sick of Your Skin? Get A Skinover.

I’m not really sure what kind of complexes one would need to want to purchase something like this, but it’s better than murdering people with little skin anomalies so that you can wear their skin. (IT PUTS THE LOTION ON ITS SKIN OR ELSE IT GETS THE HOSE AGAIN.)

This is the Hairy model…

Other models include The Double Thumb, The Love Hate, The Freckles, and The Ebony. That’s right, bizarrely fitting leather gloves to make you look black. It… leaves me speechless.

via SKINOVER.BIZ. Thanks to Edel, who has simply lovely skin, and i’d never make him lotion his skin all day, every day. No siree, not me….

Case Study: Tessa Stone : Bodies in Symmetry

I’ve been stalking Tessa Stone for years (going on “years and years”), and she never ceases to make me want to be a better at everything creative that i do. I’ve watched as she’s fallen in and out of various sequential art projects, and have been happy to see that her recent baby, “Hanna Is Not A Boy’s Name”, has not fallen through just yet.

This comic has been inspiring her to scribble groovy little designs of her characters. I hate that i almost feel the need to +fav everything she puts up, but frankly, i never cease to learn from her work.

If you actually want to know who this chap is, i recommend actually reading the comic. She has an interesting way of laying out her pages that can make it kind of tough to stop clicking “next”.

via Bodies In The Symmetry by *vert-is-ninja on deviantART.

Case Study: Jason Levesque: Lizzel

Better known as “Stunt Kid”, I met this elusive carrot-top as a fellow artist at Nekocon some years ago… I want to say 2005 or 2006. He noticed my Suicide Girls Hoodie, and mentioned that he had been commissioned to revamp the site, though Olivia had yet to get back to him on the matter. I guess the whole thing left a bad taste in his mouth, because i never saw him again, and he seems to make it a point to blow me off online. I figure that odds are good i just get lost in the overwhelming sea of wacky internet fan people, so whatever. He’s a busy man.

This was a lovely little Valentine’s gift to his “hot wife and her damn cat”.

via deviantART.

Case Study: Cobra Alarms: Cymbals

I kinda want one.

Too bad Cobra alarms don’t REALLY do that. Something tells me they’d be a lot more effective if they did.

Either way, it helps me to kind of …. god, i hate to say it: “think outside the box”. I hate that cliche.

via Cymbals Alarm.

Case Study: Softlan Ultra: Wrestling

I find MMA and greco-roman wrestling to be somewhat homoerotic, to the point where i feel awkward watching matches with my dad. This ad only reaffirms this feeling, but i can’t help but smile with the guy.

via Softlan Ultra: Wrestling.

Case Study: Nutri Balance: Bad Food Bad Dog

I strongly recommend full-viewing this one.

I love the innocence of man’s best friend revealing the sour side of their masters’ souls to the proper authorities.

via Nutri Balance: Hand.

News: “Somebody Else’s Problem” Field Strong as Ever in NYC

I’d heard legend of children getting snatched, women getting raped, and good men getting stabbed in the middle of broad daylight in New York City, and the passersby will simply look the other way.

So here’s the story:

Hugo Alfredo Tale-Yax, 31 year a homeless Guatemalan immigrant came to the aid of a woman who was being robbed. The robber stabbed Hugo several times in the chest, and collapsed on the sidewalk, where he for far too long and bled to death. The climax of the story: security footage shows that plenty of people walked by his dying/dead body and did nothing… one stopped and took a photo with his cell phone before walking away.

People joke about that kind of attitude in DC, but it wouldn’t take more than a couple minutes for some good hearted Virginian or Marylander to stop and help.

via Dozens Walk Past Dying Hero Hugo Alfredo Tale-Yax On New York Sidewalk (VIDEO). Thanks to Mighty Max and Edel, who love NYC way more than I do. And draw way better than me too. Bastards.

Case Study: Ricardo de Montreuil: The Raven

Ricardo de Montreuil and his small team, along with a $5000 budget and a RED camera created a short film about a telekinetic on the run from a futuristic LA police.

Sorry, but WordPress and Vimeo don’t appear to play very well together

THE RAVEN – 720 HD from THE RAVEN FILM on Vimeo.

via Video of the Week #57 – The Raven | Abduzeedo | Graphic Design Inspiration and Photoshop Tutorials.

Case Study: Jameson Connor

His desiccated Spongebob has been making its rounds to the various inspiration blogs for some strange reason. While the crack-head spongebob does nothing for me:

This, on the other hand, does, and inspires me to do similar work.

If you’d like to see more of his work, check out his blog:  The Art of Jameson Connor.